Workplace discrimination law

(From the BMJ Learning module)

Legally, there are six types of discrimination:

1. Direct discrimination: Because of a protected characteristic, a person is treated less favourably.

2. Indirect discrimination: A rule is applied across the board, but has more impact on people with a protected characteristic than on others.

3. Victimisation: A person is treated less favourably as a result of bringing/intending to bring a claim of discrimination, or of supporting another persson in such a claim.

4. Harassment: Conduct related to a protected characteristic that creates a hostile environment.

5. Failure to make reasonable adjustments: Pretty self-explanatory, but note that there is no legal definition of what counts as a ‘reasonable’ adjustment; the employer can weigh up the costs and benefits.

6. Discrimination arising from disability: Unfavourable treatment as a result of something that is a consequence of a person’s disability, where that treatment is not a proportionate way of achieving a legitimate aim.

(The above are summaries, not word-for-word quotations.)


About Dr Sarah

I'm a GP with a husband and two young children.
This entry was posted in Practice management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s